Breaking News
December 17, 2018 - Don’t escape from election: Nasim
December 17, 2018 - 48th Victory Day observed in New Delhi
December 15, 2018 - President mourns death of film director Amjad Hossain
December 15, 2018 - People to cast vote for boat rejecting BNP, says Quader
December 15, 2018 - Do not vote derailed persons in next polls: Tofail
December 14, 2018 - Use of LPG grows over 21pc since 2009
December 14, 2018 - Grand alliance uses different symbols for strategic reasons: Quader
December 13, 2018 - BD foods to export Dan Cake to Maldives
December 13, 2018 - ‘Digital Bangladesh Day’ observed
December 13, 2018 - AL Publicity Sub-Committee starts polls campaign today
December 13, 2018 - SC upholds stay against Tuku, Dulu’s nomination papers
December 13, 2018 - National flag to be hoisted at govt, private buildings on Dec 16
December 13, 2018 - Govt bans carrying of firearms during polls: Kamal
December 13, 2018 - Govt draws elaborate programmes marking Martyred Intellectuals Day
December 13, 2018 - Bangladesh takes the lead in piloting ICT programme: Muhith
December 11, 2018 - Quader urges youths to vote for ‘Boat’
December 11, 2018 - Govt draws elaborate programmes marking Martyred Intellectuals Day
December 11, 2018 - BNP tries to foil elections: Quader
December 11, 2018 - ACC finds irregularities over Ideal School’s lottery
December 11, 2018 - Vision for 24,000 MW power to be fulfilled by 2021
December 11, 2018 - Countrymen yet to forget BNP’s torture: Tofail
December 11, 2018 - Dublar Char to get 4.5 square km land after dredging Pashur channel
December 10, 2018 - AKM Shaheed Reza, Chairman, Board of Directors of Mercantile Bank Limited, inaugurating its 131st branch at Sirajganj Municipality area on Sunday. Kazi Masihur Rahman, CEO, Senior Executives of the Bank, Wahidul Islam, Vice-President of Sirajganj Chamber and President of Fertilizer Association and local elites were also present.
December 10, 2018 - Prof. Dr. Mojib Uddin Ahmed, Chairman, Board of Directors of the Investment Corporation of Bangladesh (ICB), presiding over its 42nd AGM at a hotel in the city on Saturday. Kazi Sanaul Hoq, Managing Director and other directors of the organization were also present.
December 10, 2018 - Professor Dr. A H M Mostafizur Rahman, VC of Kabi Nazrul Islam University along with S M Amzad Hossain, Chairman of South Bangla Agriculture & Commerce (SBAC) Bank Limited, inaugurating its 71st branch at Mymensingh on Sunday. Md. Golam Faruque, Managing Director of the Bank and Aminul Haque Shamim, President of Mymensingh Chamber of Commerce were also present.
December 10, 2018 - PM for mother’s special attention to children
December 10, 2018 - Integrated efforts must for continuation of power sector progress: Towfiq
December 10, 2018 - BNP-Jamaat out to make Polls questionable:Qamrul
December 10, 2018 - CJ urges youths to take bold stance against corruption
December 10, 2018 - Nation observes ‘Begum Rokeya Day’ with due solemnity
Pro-AL candidates win DUTA poll

Pro-AL candidates win DUTA poll

DHAKA: Awami League backed teachers under “Blue Panel” yesterday swept Dhaka University Teachers’ Association (DUTA) election, bagging 14 out of 15 executive committee posts, including all key positions.

Blue panel’s DU Earth and Environmental Science Faculty Dean Professor Dr ASM Maksud Kamal has been elected as DUTA president while Business Faculty Dean Professor Shibli Rubayat Ul Islam general secretary.

Prof Kamal bagged 1,306 votes, while his rival Soil, Water and Environment Dept Professor Mohammad Akhtar Hossain Khan from White Panel, secured 453 votes. Prof Shibli bagged 805 votes while White Panel’s Statistics Department Chairperson Prof Luthfor Rahman got 689 votes.

Blue panel candidates -DU Biological Science Faculty Dean Prof Dr Md Imdadul Hoque, Accounting and Information Systems (AIS) dept professor Mamtaz Uddin Ahmed and English dept professor Dr. Tazin Aziz won the posts of vice-president, treasurer and joint secretary respectively.

The elected executive committee members from blue panel are: Professor Chandranath Poddar, Professor Zeenat Huda, Professor Nisar Hosain, Professor Aftab Ali Seikh, Professor Ziaur Rahman, Professor Nizamul Huq Bhuiyan, Professor Sadeka Halim, Professor Sabita Rizwana Rahman and Professor Soumitra Sekhar Dey.

DU syndicate member and Engineering and Technology Faculty Dean Prof Hasanuzzaman, is the only person elected as a member of the executive committee of DUTA from the pro-BNP white panel while Pharmacy Department Chairperson Dr. Sitesh Chandra Bachar was the lone Blue Panel candidate who could not be elected.

Professor Dr. Tofail Ahmed Chowdhury who conducted the election announced the results at around 4 pm at the DU Teachers’ Club. “Out of 1988 voters, 1550 teachers cast their votes,” Prof Tofail told BSS.

Earlier, voting was held from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm at the teacher’s club on the campus.

A total of 30 candidates contested against 15 posts of the executive committee of DUTA.

Last year, the result was almost the same as the Blue Panel swept DUTA election, bagging 14 out of 15 posts.

About author


Reflection Team


স্যান্ডউইচের দামে দেহ বিক্রি করছেন গ্রিক নারীরা!

স্যান্ডউইচের দামে দেহ বিক্রি করছেন গ্রিক নারীরা!

ভেঙে পড়ছে গ্রিসের অর্থনীতি। দুই মেয়াদে ক্ষমতায় এসেও সিপ্রাস সরকার চিত্রটা পাল্টাতে পারেনি। দিন দিন বাড়ছে বেকারত্ব। গোটা দেশটার আর্থ-সামাজিক…

Recent Video

Photo Gallery

Folder not found